Bunty Avieson

Bunty Avieson

Sydney, New South Wales

Bunty Avieson spent a year in 2008-2009 in the Himalayan kingdom of Bhutan, jointly funded by the United Nations and the Bhutan Observer newspaper, to teach journalists and editors, as well as to advise media stakeholders, as part of the country’s move to democracy. This provided the opportunity to undertake research for her PhD thesis, which she completed in 2013, receiving the Vice Chancellor’s Commendation from Macquarie University. During the year-long posting in Bhutan she acted as a consultant to Reporters Without Borders, Asia-Pacific desk.

Avieson’s Master of Philosophy (Macquarie, 2008), titled The Poetics of Paranoia, investigated the construction of self with reference to the theories of Jacques Derrida and 1st century Indian philosopher Nagarjuna.

Avieson’s journalism practice includes news and feature writing in Britain, Australia and Asia for newspapers, including The Australian and the Straits Times in Singapore, as well as a wide range of Australian magazines, including Good Weekend and Good Reading. In the 1990s she was editor of Woman’s Day, and editorial director of New Idea.

She has published three novels, a novella and two memoirs, which have been variously translated into Japanese, German and Thai, and been awarded two Ned Kelly Crime Writing Awards for her crime fiction.

She has taught across a variety of media subjects for the past nine years, including news journalism, feature writing, creative non-fiction and international communications.

Mystery, Thriller & Suspense

Apartment 255

Someone is watching her ... looks can kill Sarah and Ginny have been best friends since school. Then Sarah meets Tom. Her career takes off. She and Tom move into a stunning inner-city apartment. But Ginny has not been so lucky. She wanted Tom, but she didn't get him. She wants ... what Sarah has. Ginny moves into an apartment overlooking Sarah and Tom's. She starts watching them. Then she does something more than just watch ... "a gripping read" – Herald Sun "Avieson turns her considerable skills to a wonderfully chilling psychological thriller" – NW Book of the Week "With its snappy pace, this is ... an excellent read" – Marie Claire "Avieson offers an acute psychological study of obsessive behaviour ... kind of kinky and deliciously unputdownable" – Canberra Times "Revenge, lust and obsession abound in this enjoyable first novel" Australian Women's Weekly This suspenseful thriller is perfect for fans of Jodi Picoult and Paullina Simons.

The Affair

It started so innocently. But doesn't everyone say that? In the opulent rooms of a Sydney specialist, Nina and James Wilde are waiting. Waiting to learn whether the rare, hereditary condition that killed James's father will threaten not only James, but also their much loved son, Luke. But that is just the beginning of Nina's torment. She has a secret, one that is now a decade old and just as capable of destroying everything that is important to her. Memories of another time and a sweet, passionate love that should never have happened are haunting Nina. Suddenly her grasp on life and happiness seems more precarious than she could ever have anticipated. "a gripping read" – Herald Sun "Avieson turns her considerable skills to a wonderfully chilling psychological thriller" – NW Book of the Week "With its snappy pace, this is ... an excellent read" – Marie Claire "Avieson offers an acute psychological study of obsessive behaviour ... kind of kinky and deliciously unputdownable" – Canberra Times This suspenseful thriller is perfect for fans of Jodi Picoult and Paullina Simons.

Scroll to top