DE King

DE King

Brisbane, Queensland

DE King writes epic fantasy novels, starting with the In All Jest series.

His novels are available in eBook, paperback and hard back book formats from worldwide retailers as well as his own stores at Get exclusive behind the scenes news, discount coupons, and more by joining Darryl's Reader's Group at

Epic, Fantasy, Science Fiction & Fantasy

A Fool's Errand

No one knows the past, not even the secret society of Jesters who covertly maintain stability in Dharatan. All recent memory begins after a now-forgotten battle that almost destroyed their world. An amulet, linked to the very cause of the war, surfaces after 800 years. One of the most experienced Jesters steals it before it can be delivered to an unknown enemy. In an isolated cavern, outside the small northern city of Barnen, the Jester lies dying. Lani, a young woman seeking shelter away from trouble in the city, stumbles on him in his final moments. Now in possession of the amulet, and hunted by assassins sent to retrieve the jewel, Lani is driven away from the only place she’s ever lived and becomes entangled in events outside of her control. More alone than ever and unsure who is friend or foe, she finds herself bound to this Jester’s world in ways she could never have imagined. When she is told she is part of a bigger fate, her journey becomes a matter of life and death, as she seeks to unravel the truth. A Fool's Errand is Book 1 in the In All Jest series, a new epic fantasy series by fantasy author D.E. King. Book 2, Fool Me Twice is out in early 2021. For pre-release updates, cover reveals and more exciting information sign up at

Scroll to top